High school girls lacrosse in Texas began in 1990, when a graduate of St. John’s School in Houston, who played women’s collegiate lacrosse in Vermont, returned to Houston and introduced the sport to the Rebel Ladies of St. John’s.  A Bellaire High School club team formed later that same year.

During the early-90’s Houston added teams at Kinkaid, Houston Episcopal and Lamar High School and Dallas added teams at Plano, Richardson, Coppell and Greenhill.  Teams from Bowie and Austin High and the Loyola School in Shreveport Louisiana also formed during this period of rapid growth and the first statewide championship was won by St. John’s in 1993.

In 1998 the Girl’s Division of the Texas High School Lacrosse leagues was established and championship events including both girl’s and boy’s programs were held through 2004.  The girls programs separated from the boys in 2005 with the formation of an independent Texas Girls High School Lacrosse League.  At that time there were 39 member programs in the TGHSLL.  Ten years later, in 2015, the league had grown to 50 member programs.

A history of league champions may be found here  http://tghsll.org/index.php/state-championship-info/past-champions/